LEAP cohort graduates shine at the University of Guam

Four graduates from the 2013 UNT LEAP, Library Education for the U.S. Affiliated Pacific, cohort were awarded the Triton Team Award from the University of Guam. Ismael Perez, Jefrey Libao, Wai Yi Ma and Roland San Nicolas were honored with a letter of commendation, a $500 cash prize and Latte Stone Trophy for their teamwork. All four members are librarians at the Robert F. Kennedy Library, University of Guam.

The Triton Team Award recognizes unique and exemplary accomplishments that results from employee collaboration and teamwork. These efforts lead to significant departmental, organizational, and/or community impact. The hallmark of this award is excellent team performance resulting in progress towards greatness.

Nominations for the award may be made by the UOG community members and the public. Nominated teams must demonstrate collaboration and carry out individual and team responsibility with professionalism while encouraging participation and openness while sharing ideas and skills. Members must also enhance the reputation and mission of UOG.


The UNT LEAP program offered 23 scholarships to Pacific Islander citizens to pursue a MLS degree from UNT, with funding from the Laura Bush 21st Century Librarian Program, sponsored by the Institute of Museum and Library Services. The cohort covers American Samoa, Guam, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia including the states of Chuuk, Kosrai, Pohnpei, and Yap, and the Republic of Palau. Students began study in August 2011 and graduated in summer 2013. The graduates of this cohort were the first native Pacific islanders to earn master's degrees in library and information science. A second cohort of LEAPers will graduate in a few weeks.

Photo: Ismael Perez, left, Wai Yi Ma, Jefrey Libao, UOG President Robert Underwood, Courtney Marshall, and Roland San Nicolas