Dr. Jodi Philbrick to receive President's Award from the Medical Library Association

This year’s annual meeting of the Medical Library Association (MLA) will be a special and memorable one for IS Lecturer, Dr. Jodi Philbrick, who will be receiving the President’s Award for her valuable work with the Association. The President's Award at the Medical Library Association is given to a member who has been selected by the association's officers and Board of Directors for a notable or important contribution during the past association year. Dr. Philbrick will be recognized for her leadership as Chair of Section Council, her contributions to the development of MLA's Competencies for Lifelong Learning and Professional Success, and her mentorship work with the MLA Rising Stars Leadership Development Program. The MLA Rising Star program gives members the opportunity to develop skills, knowledge, and personal characteristics needed to become a leader in MLA.  The yearly leadership development program matches each Rising Star with a mentor in a curriculum that includes leadership, strategic planning, and self-awareness skills.

"Receiving one of the highest honors of the Medical Library Association, the President's Award, is especially meaningful since it is my professional home, and I am being recognized for my work in helping the association meet its strategic goals," said Philbrick.

Dr. Jodi Philbrick joined the IS Department as a lecturer in August 2013. She was no stranger to the IS department, having earned both her Master’s degree in Library Science and her doctorate degree in interdisciplinary information science from UNT. She has also worked with Dr. Cleveland and the Houston Program for some time and was featured in UNT's 2012 Annual Report. Her areas of research and interest include Health Informatics, Health Sciences Libraries, Competencies for Information Professionals, and Social Media, Mobile Technology, and Information Access.

At the end of this meeting, Dr. Philbrick will finish her term on the Board of Directors for MLA. She will receive her award at the President’s Award dinner during the MLA annual conference that will take place May 26 - 31, 2017 in Seattle, Washington.


Published May 12, 2017.